.

Letter: Simmons is 'Dangerous' to Women's Health

Letter writer Gloria McVeigh says some of state Rep. Justin Simmons' votes have been "insulting and downright dangerous" to women. Simmons, a Republican, represents Pennsylvania's 131st legislative district.

To the editor:

Women are not single-issue voters. We care as much about education as so-called “women’s” issues. But when politicians threaten havoc on women and their families just to appeal to knee-jerk right-wing voters, you’d better believe we pay attention.

How is it possible that, in the 21st century, a major party candidate like Republican Justin Simmons can be so insulting and downright dangerous in his votes affecting women’s most intimate lives? Simmons is state Representative for District 131, which includes western Lower Saucon Township, Upper Saucon Township, Coopersburg, Upper and Lower Milford townships, eastern Salisbury Township and southeast Allentown.

Simmons co-sponsored PA’s infamous law requiring that women submit to an invasive vaginal ultrasound before having an abortion. Who crafts such an abusive tactic to intimidate women exercising their legal right to abortion? Justin Simmons. Who votes to shut down statewide Planned Parenthood clinics that provide women birth control services--preventing unwanted pregnancies and therefore many abortions--as well as cancer screening and treatment for sexually-transmitted diseases? Justin Simmons. Whose position is more extreme than 83 percent of all Americans on access to safe, legal abortion--opposing it even in cases of rape and incest? Justin Simmons. But who respects women enough not to presume to dictate their decisions on family planning and would consistently vote to fund clinics providing those? Simmons’ Democratic opponent, Kevin Deely.

If you are a woman, or believe that women have the same right that you do to make their own decisions, vote for Kevin Deely on November 6.

Gloria McVeigh

Lower Saucon Township

Robert Sentner October 23, 2012 at 11:43 AM
Deely's really grasping now.
John Fox October 23, 2012 at 12:07 PM
Wow Kevin, you finally learned what all the municipalities are the District! YAY! Have a gold star! If you get three gold stars you can get something from the prize box! But here is where you are wrong, I talked to Rep. Simmons about this bill, and he told me that he withdrew his co-sponsorship of this bill after it came out. The bill that was proposed and he signed onto was different from the bill as printed. When he found out about the change he withdrew his co-sponsorship. I also like the "We (women) care as much about education as so-called “women’s” issues." You don't think that Mr. Deely's campaign wrote this do you? Even in something completely unrelated to education Mr Deely had to throw that in there, because it is the only thing he knows.
Allan Bach October 23, 2012 at 12:08 PM
If one disagrees with funding abortions with tax dollars, is she a "knee-jerk right-wing voter"? Kevin Deely should thank you for the free political ad, disguised as an opinion piece in a letter to the editor.
John Fox October 23, 2012 at 12:14 PM
Actually "knows" is a strong word, the only issue he talks about anyway.
Gramma24 October 23, 2012 at 01:17 PM
Name me one Democrat who lies in wait for a pregnant girl to grab and drag into Planned Parenthood and has her aborted? I'll wait. It has been proven, time and time again that the rate of abortions go down with proper education and women having access to proper medical care and contraception. I love how anyone 'not' on the Simmons bandwagon is a shill for Deely. I have met Deely twice, Simmons more than that......it's Simmons who makes me feel like I need to wash the slime off of me whenever I leave his presence. But as long as the Right pushes him as 'Jesus' Little Sunbeam' and he takes his marching orders from them without an original thought of his own, he'll continue to 'push similar' bills. Hey, Justin, how about making it mandatory for all men who want Viagra/Cialis/Levitra have to go in for a camera catheterization to see what the 'real' problem is? Hmmmmmmm, (crickets chripping) don't see him hopping on that one.
Rich Cranium October 23, 2012 at 01:42 PM
"making it mandatory for all men who want Viagra/Cialis/Levitra have to go in for a camera catheterization to see what the 'real' problem is" That is honestly the dumbest thing I have ever read in my entire life, taking Viagra/Cialis/Levitra does not kill an unborn child and is not birth control either. It addresses a medical condition, unless you view pregnancy as nothing more then a "medical condition." In which case I kinda wish you would have practiced what you preach and your user name would be "angry.old.bag24"
Paula October 23, 2012 at 01:50 PM
Seriously......vote Simmons!
Tanya Bryant October 23, 2012 at 04:06 PM
Don't want to say that you are lying in this piece but, you are. Here is the ultrasound bill sponsors. http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/bill_history.cfm?syear=2011&sind=0&body=H&type=B&bn=1077 As you can see Simmons name is not on it. So why are you lying?
optimist October 23, 2012 at 04:20 PM
Look about 2/3rds through the signatures right after Schroder http://www.legis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&sessYr=2011&sessInd=0&billBody=H&billTyp=B&billNbr=1077&pn=3047
Julia Hufford October 23, 2012 at 05:00 PM
Why all this fuss about a vaginal ultrasound? I've had them while pregnant, and otherwise. It's great medical technology, and gives a woman FULL INFORMATION before making medical decisions of many kinds, not just pregnancy. If an abortion is chosen to save the life of the mother, I'm assuming her health is so precarious that the woman would want all the information she can get before subjecting herself to a surgical procedure. It seems the only time some women don't want all the facts is when they are determined that another (little) person is NOT going to intrude on their life.
slyfox October 23, 2012 at 05:28 PM
Good points. However you state that " It seems the only time some women don't want all the facts is when they are determined that another (little) person is NOT going to intrude on their life. " That is the point. That is a decision to be made by the woman who is pregnant. The decision to be made by the woman who is pregnant. It should not be a "requirement". Seems that even though some want a smaller gov't and have them stay out of our affairs they turn around and demand the government step in and create more ridiculous rules. Can't have it both ways but they try and try. The above comment by Gramma24 is very thoughtful and I agree. Turn this around and demand the same for all MALES and you'll hear nothing. Not even the hot air spewing about.
Crestor Januvia October 23, 2012 at 06:08 PM
Ya, the woman gets to make the decision, but if she decides to have the kid, the father has to pay. If she decides she does not want it, the father has no say. Shut up pro abortion women, you already have far more rights than men. But on a positive note, abortion generally stops the heart of a future dependent democratic voter.... so, it does have some value.
Josh Popichak (Editor) October 23, 2012 at 06:20 PM
You are welcome to express your viewpoint--but don't tell others who are expressing theirs to "shut up." This thread represents an open dialogue in which all members of a diverse online community are welcome to participate. Telling others to "shut up" is also a violation of the Patch terms of use: http://hellertown.patch.com/terms. And posts in violation of the terms are subject to removal.
Gramma24 October 23, 2012 at 10:31 PM
Simmons didn't fight his party for the right to run for office, Karen Beyer stepped on too many toes and the status quo Repugs wanted someone they could control and who wouldn't question orders. Ergo, Simmons.
Mary Anne Looby October 23, 2012 at 10:35 PM
Vaginal ultrasounds cannot be done before the 8th week of pregnancy or later. If a woman wants an abortion, why make her wait just to be poked and prodded to satisfy a group of self rightous busybodys. A woman has a right to decide issues pertaining to her body. Until anyone of us has experienced an unwanted pregnancy we have no right to judge another woman. Shame on all of you who do. PS, if you have kids, Karma's a b____!
Mary Anne Looby October 23, 2012 at 10:39 PM
Seriously? Most of the Dems I know fully support planned parenthood and would jump at the chance to help someone by taking them there. By the way, you comparison is quite stupid. How about all women decide when and if their men get vasectomys?
Mary Anne Looby October 23, 2012 at 10:43 PM
Typical male reaction.....want's to play but doesn't want to pay. It is what genteel society refers to as LOWLIFE DEADBEATS!!!!!
Mary Anne Looby October 23, 2012 at 10:48 PM
Josh, totally off subject, can the adds that are on the patch site be put on the side or saved till the end of the articles, info etc. I have missed things because when I got to an add I made the mistake of assuming the page was finished. Has anyone else had a similar complaint or problem?
Gramma24 October 23, 2012 at 11:10 PM
ultra vaginal ultrasound isn't an invasion of a woman's privacy?......knew I'd hit a nerve when I suggested invading the 'holy pee-pee'. Requiring this procedure is an abomination, but hey, it's just done to women, so who gives right?
Joe Sommers October 23, 2012 at 11:28 PM
Gramma 24...Don't listen to everything Beyer tells you. Simmons received $0 dollars from the so called repugs to run against her. If you knew anything about politics you would know that either parties first priority is keeping the seats they already have regardless of the individual. This district was Beyers to keep .Two factors got her ousted...A terrific young man poised to work VERY hard, mature beyond his years with conservative views and a magnetic personailty and Karen Beyers belief that no one could unseat her. She didn't give Rep Simmons the respect he deserved and she sat on her ass until it was too late.THATS WHAT HAPPENED. You act like the republicans recruited Justin Simmons to run against Beyer! Man are you uninformed. If Beyer told you that she really has issues. Beyer should move the hell out of the Lehigh Valley because she will be forever tortured with her career ending defeat to Justin Simmons So whats your option Gramma ....Kevin Deely !!! Rots of Ruck...Simmons wins this election going away!
Tanya Bryant October 23, 2012 at 11:36 PM
Optimist and Gloria nice try. If you look at the people currently sponsoring this bill (see my earlier post) and the original sponsors (see optimists earlier post). You will notice there are 32 less co-sponsors including Rep. Justin Simmons, Rep Tina Davis, and Rep. Deborah Kula. Reps Kula and Davis are both democrats and women. I called their offices and asked about the their support of the ultrasound bill. I was told at both offices that the original bill and the current bill are radically different and they could no longer support it, so they with drew their support. Called Rep Simmons office and got the same response. For a bunch of teachers (Yes Gloria is also a teacher) you guys sure don't seem to like doing your homework. If you did you could save us all time responding to your misinformation and lies.
Rich Cranium October 23, 2012 at 11:57 PM
Gramma this is the only thing I have to say to you: Arguing with liberals is like playing chess with a pigeon. No matter how good I am at chess, the pigeon is just going to knock over all the pieces, crap on the board, and strut around the table looking victorious.
optimist October 24, 2012 at 12:08 AM
So by radically different what do you mean? What did rep. Simmons think he was signing onto? I heard that what caused many of these folks to pull their names was the public reaction. If you read the bill on which his name appears, it sill looks like a bill with the same basic ideas. If not, I'm all ears.
John Fox October 24, 2012 at 12:20 AM
Now wouldn't you think that this article is an attack on a younger member of our government? I might even say that this piece is using negative terms in addressing Mr. Simmons, calling him a radical, as well as insulting, and dangerous to women... I think this author needs a few lessons in Civility. I heard that there was this lady, I think her name was Gloria McVeigh (shockingly similar to the name of the author is it not) who hosted rallies promoting civility in political discourse. Maybe she should teach this author a lesson in civility. This person said that we need civility around the time Cathy Giffords was shot. (I seem to remember a lot of these calls on the side of the left at this time, those were the good old days) Maybe she only means that civility is important when it would protect democrats, after all she did host one of these rallies to protect Mr. Shining beacon of civility: Rep. Joe Brennan http://www.lehighvalleylive.com/bethlehem/index.ssf/2011/01/civilty_proponent_suggests_new.html
Mary Anne Looby October 24, 2012 at 01:18 AM
Sly Fox, I think you mean Gabby Gifford of Arizona. As far as Joe Brennan goes, he has a disease and I think it is unkind of you cast aspersions when I doubt you know the man.
Tanya Bryant October 24, 2012 at 01:23 AM
I'm sorry optimist. Like the boys who wanted to cheat off my papers in elementary school, high school, college, and the Wharton School. It's time to do your own homework.
Mary Anne Looby October 24, 2012 at 01:24 AM
Sorry, I meant Jon Fox
Tanya Bryant October 24, 2012 at 02:12 AM
Really beating your wife is a disease? Sorry Mary Anne you need help if you think a man that beats his wife HAS, just a disease. Mary Anne if you are in an abusive relationship it's not your fault it's his. Here is a link to people that can help you. http://www.turningpointlv.org/
John Fox October 24, 2012 at 02:18 AM
You are right I did mean Gabby Gifford

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »